
Beware text messages that require you to click on a link - even if they are offering free text messages and look vaguely official!
If in doubt, ring your service provider and check if they are running such a promotion!
Got a ‘Service Message’ type text today from ‘Promo’ which contained a message saying ‘Claim your 1,000 Text Messages! Connect & Collect’ followed by a link.
I had never received a ‘Service Message’ type text before, they come in looking different, and as such might fool you into thinking they are from your service provider. But on calling Vodafone they confirmed it was not from them.
What’s more they advised me to call back on Monday so they could confirm I had not been billed for RECEIVING the message!!! I’m not sure how the hell that could happen, the Vodafone operator was extremely helpful and nice but I was in the middle of something and didn’t have time to chase up the details.
I hope to get more info on Monday when I call to check my Bill.
So don’t be fooled by this type of message - from my chat with Vodafone they reckon if you click on the link you will most likely end up subscribed to a premium rate text service of some kind. I’ll post more info as I get it.
If in doubt call your service provider and ask them if they are running a promotion.
Of course the domain involved was registered through Domains by Proxy, Inc. with GoDaddy… if anyone has any suggestions of how I should proceed, let me know - I’d like to make an official complaint if I can figure out who to complain about!
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: QQ1.CC
It’s only a matter of time before the Viagra offers start beeping in….